Books that will LITERALLY change your mind.

 

brain-map

I’ve been reading some of the most fascinating books and I found out why I like them so much. I found out that some books can cause, “Ah-ha” moments that can change the neuro-pathways in your brain and maybe even change your whole life.

Here is the book that explained it all:

How Enlightenment Changes Your Brain: The New Science of Transformation

by Andrew Newberg and Mark Robert Waldman enlightenment

This book was written by brain scientists who use brain scans to show how enlightenment (small “e” ah-ha moments) and Enlightenment (large “E” life changing moments) literally change the structure of your brain. Once you’ve had a large “E” experience, your brain can not go back to thinking as it did before as those neural pathways have been replaced. You can encourage large “E” enlightenment by practicing prayer, meditation and other contemplative practices. These help prime the pump for the large “E” changes you need in your life. Fascinating.

I’ve had a lot of “e” experiences through reading so I thought I’d share books I’ve read lately and how they have changed my mind:

outliersOutliers: The Story of Success by Malcolm Gladwell 

This book changed my mind about education, genius, and ice-hockey. It also explained why it took me fifty years to learn to write well. This book explains sooo many things. You must read it. And I highly recommend the audio edition as he reads it and is a good reader.

 

 

Being Mortal: Medicine and What Matters in the End by Atul Gawandbeing-mortal

This book helps change your mind about aging in America. It explains the history of things like Nursing homes and encourages us to start thinking outside the box in our care for the elderly. As a hospice worker, this book was very important to me.

 

 

Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear

big-magicby Elizabeth Gilbert

I know I’ve talked about this book before, but seriously, this book is awesome and she reads for the audio edition. This book changed my mind about my writing and made me not give up until I found a bigger publisher for my books. And now I have a book coming out with Harper Legend in March!! Woot.

 

Year of Yes: How to Dance It Out, Stand In the Sun and Be Your Own Person by Shonda Rhimes  year of yes 2

I know I’ve talked about this book too. I’ve been living my year of yes and taking all kinds of risks. It’s been crazy fun. This book, read by the author, is a lot of fun and will change your mind about the things you say yes to!

 

 

Cracker by Jacci Turner Craker (1)

I wouldn’t be an author if I didn’t promote one of my own books. This book has been changing minds. If you read the reviews, people don’t walk away from this book thinking the same way about things like racism and injustice. Yay! Give it a try.

 

 

 

I’d love to hear what books are LITERALLY changing your mind!

 

Photo Credit: Brain Picture

 

 

Leave a Reply

