Say Something

Man with duct tape over his mouth

Man with duct tape over his mouth

When I was trying to understand about Racial Prejudice (I am still learning and will be always), I learned that keeping silent during times of injustice is a power position that comes with privilege. That is, if I am not directly affected by injustice, then staying silent doesn’t change my personal experience. But those directly affected by injustice only stay silent at a significant personal cost.

White America has forgotten how to lament. Did you know that the Psalms of Lament and the entire Book of Lamentations has been removed from many prayer books? We have forgotten good Friday and we have jumped to Easter. We’ve taken on a happy, positive Christianity.

But that is not real life. Real life is hard, and scary, and messy – as we have learned in Orlando.

Please watch this short video about the rough day when I learned not to stay silent in the face of injustice but to “mourn with those that mourn.”

 

I encourage everyone to say something about the tragedy in Orlando. You may not think you have any friends in the rainbow community, but you do, and they are hurting and afraid. Here are some templates you are welcome to cut and paste to help you “say something.”

 

“My heart is breaking over Orlando.”

“Praying for the families and friends of all who were lost in Orlando.”

“Praying for the men and women killed in Orlando, their families, those caring for the wounded, and the first responders who rushed into the gunfire.”

“I can’t stop crying.”

 

It doesn’t ‘t take much. You can practice here if you want. Tell me how you are feeling about Orlando.

Photo Credit

4 Comments

  1. Anna Marshall

    Thank you for sharing your viewpoint……uhmmmm…NOT!
    Thank you for helping me recognize the harm I do by staying silent. The boxing ring analogy helped me see that I am not fully committed when I just jump in with the water bottle and towel to clean up the blood and bandage the cut…the fighter wants me fighting along side rather than giving first aid. They want a comrade not an EMT.

    Like

  2. summer

    “My heart is breaking over Orlando.” “Praying for the families and friends of all who were lost in Orlando.” “Praying for the men and women killed in Orlando, their families, those caring for the wounded, and the first responders who rushed into the gunfire.”

    People are tired of hearing all of that. They’re just words, and they’ve been uttered so often after each tragedy and nothing changes that they’ve become empty.

    Nevermind say something… DO SOMETHING. Actions always speak louder than words. At this point, the LGBTQ community and their allies what to know what people are going to DO, not what to say. They don’t want your prayers, they want your action. So what are you going to do?

    Like

    • Good point Summer! Thanks for the reminder. A call to action is needed. But I for one, was devastated by the silence on behalf of my Christian Republican friends(with whom I share a faith but not a political party) who were absolutely silent about that tragedy. It broke my heart to think that we are so polarized that we can’t even mourn together.

      Like

Leave a Reply

